The U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) administers the Program under policy guidelines established by the J. William Foreign Scholarship Board. Appointed by the President of the United States, the 12-member J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board was established by Congress to supervise the global Fulbright Program as authorized by the Fulbright-Hays Act of 1961.

The Fulbright Foundation in Greece is administered by a binational Board of Directors. The composition of the Board is determined by the bilateral agreement between the US and Greece. Currently eight members, four US and four Greek citizens, make up the governing body of the Fulbright Foundation in Greece. The U.S. Ambassador serves as Honorary Chairman of the Board and endorses all appointments. The members represent academia, business, diplomatic and professional fields from the resident Greek and American communities. The Board of Directors oversees the administration and finances and formulates policies and annual programs of the Foundation. The Board of Directors appoints an Executive Director who manages the work of the Foundation and its staff.

Executive Director: Artemis A. Zenetou
Assistant to the Executive Director: Angie Fotaki
Educational Advisor/American Program Coordinator: Nicholas Tourides
Greek Program Coordinator: Els Siakos Hanappe
Fiscal Office: Andreas Ioannides

The Foundation works closely with cooperating agencies in the selection, supervision and administration of particular grantee categories: The Institute of International Education (IIE) manages the graduate students program, while the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) manages the scholars program. The United States Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs oversees the program worldwide.


Scholarships for US and Greek Citizens
Educational Advising / Study in the USA

Questions? Review our website for answers
If you need further assistance contact us